LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

sinicle's build thread

99K views 1K replies 116 participants last post by  bigdawgg323 
#1 ·
So I'm getting back into building after a LONG time and the build I'm gonna start with is one that I started about 5 years ago (and put it down about 5 years ago. haha). I'm using this forum as a a running journal as sorts as I build this thing. so buckle up, sit tight, cause this is gonna be a VERY long, slow and uneventful ride! :roflmao: disclaimer: the only camera I have is on my IPhone so beware of shitty pics.

as you can see, this kit's been sitting for a WHILE

See less See more
#2 ·
I started by removing the old paint and decals (about as far as I got the first time I touched this kit). and reprimering it. I'm just glad the body isn't smashed after all the years of this thing sitting.

#4 ·
first thing I noticed is the loss of one of the interior panels. good thing I'm an upholsterer by trade and interior panels are my job! so I made new ones from remnants from the same material I use at my shop for real door panels.

this is the material I use. it's sheets of ABS. it's all I use at my shop for all interior panels

#6 ·
Originally posted by dropped@birth@Apr 2 2011, 08:08 AM~20241959
first thing you might wanna do bro, is get rid of that tube glue ;)  just sayin :cheesy:  ;)
HA thanks. yeah, that glue was in the box. I stopped using that stuff long ago. never really was a fan, too gooy.

#7 ·
I always build my models like I'd build a real car (if I had unlimited resources). so you'll always see traditional interiors(simulated wrinkles pleats/button tuck) and old school styling. this is a test to see if I could do wrinkles.

it looks ok in person, but I'm gonna try something else. something I'm hoping will look more realistic. I think I'm gonna try to actually upholster this one with foam and cloth. the same way I'd do real seats I'll show pics when I get to it.

#8 ·
Originally posted by sinicle@Apr 2 2011, 10:46 AM~20241982