LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long time ago, back when the Mad Modeler Forum was around, i was a little into model lowriders. Life moves, hobbies change, whatever. I'm a noob, not making any kind of claims about knowing what's up.

Eventually I got into 1/14 scale radio control Trucking and Construction equipment. It's all about scale realism, making stuff look, move, work as accurate as possible. Couple times a year we take over a building for a weekend, set up roads, some buildings, bring in dirt or crumb rubber for the excavators and stuff to play in. Most guys run Semi trucks and work trucks and stuff, my style is a bit different.

Anyway, thought some of you might think this project looks kinda cool. Relax, i give in and accept that its a lowrider once i make it more driveable.
--
Noobs can't post links, no pics or content this post

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Maybe now?

My 1/14 scale VW Bay-window bus (a "Dickie" brand rc conversion) looked a little lonely, so after much deliberation a Maisto "1/16" scale Split-window truck was tracked down. Uh, because reasons...

We'll start off with a nice new (already crap rc) Maisto "Type 2 VW Double-cab pickup" truck in "1/16 scale" that sure looks to be the same size, or slightly bigger, than my 1/14 Dickie VW van that i've found measurements and done the math on which is exactly 1/14 of real one.

So first off, there's room for improvement. A lot...

But what '50 year old' car made it through time exactly how you wanted?

Let's see that smile.

Not a bad starting point.

I was originally thinking something custom like all yellow, or blue over silver, white over green, or white over purple. The deeper into the stock options i looked, the more I like pearl white over mouse gray. Maus Grau ist schon!

It's running a ground and high centering on everything. Cool on static that i can just park up, not on a driver.