LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5,051 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so im checking out stroker kits and i notice they only really come with cranks pistons and connecting rods, i know im going to need more then just that to rebuild my engine, what should i be buying

·
Registered
24,862 Posts
They all come with everything necessary to assemble a stroker short block (minus cam)

Besides crank, piston, rods, bearings, you'll need a cam, lifters (that match the cam (ie- roller cam w/roller lifters, flat tappet cam w/flat tappet lifters)
Heads, pushrods, rocker arms, intake, oil pump... ummm............

·
Registered
24,862 Posts
J/W, are you building the engine, or having the shop that machines it assemble??

·
Registered
5,051 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Originally posted by biggeazy-e@Sep 25 2007, 04:22 PM~8868819
J/W, are you building the engine, or having the shop that machines it assemble??
im building, im in my second year of auto at the local college,and they got a massive engine building class so im trying to take advantage while i got some cash to build the stroker engine. i know some shit about engines basic repairs and shit like that but not enough to make educated descisions about what i should be buying :cool:

·
Registered
4,689 Posts
youll need a 350 rebuild kit with .030 over piston rings and 400 rod bearings(should be same as 350)-unless its a destroked 400 with a 350 crank then vise versa-then what ever else u want like carb,lifters,cam,intake,headers ect-the rest is up to u-rebuild kits come with all gaskets,pistons,rings,bearings and usually oil pump and valve seals and stock style lifters-look one up on summitracing.com thatll give ya a good idea or give em a call and ask em 1-800-230-3030 or call up jegs 1-800-345-4545 (jegs.com)

·
Registered
1,793 Posts