LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i was wondering if you can swap a 96 engine to a 93 fleetwood and vise versa? would i need to switch the rear axel also? any help apreciated.
 

·
SPELL CHECK
Joined
·
21,743 Posts
Originally posted by 81 FLEETWOOD@Aug 17 2006, 01:08 AM~5984843
just switch out motors , you can do it its fine
Yeah, it's not quite that easy. You have to swap the computer and harness as well if you want it to run. You're talking about replacing an L06 with an LT1.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
so it can be done you just have to switch out EVERYTHING from the 96 to 93
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
so it can be done you just have to switch out EVERYTHING from the 96 to 93, including the trannsmision and drive line with the rear axel?
 

·
SPELL CHECK
Joined
·
21,743 Posts
You should not have to change the rear axle. If the 93 has a 4L60E, then you don't have to change the transmissions. If it has a 700R4, you will need to change them. If you change transmissions, you may have to change the driveshaft too, but I'm not positive because I don't remember if there is a significant difference in transmission lengths.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24,862 Posts
Originally posted by 81 FLEETWOOD@Aug 17 2006, 09:18 PM~5989929
i was just saying its possible to do it :biggrin:
:twak: :roflmao: :roflmao: :roflmao: :roflmao:

he'd be onn here in two weeks wondering why he has this nice clean engine that doesnt run...

LMAO...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24,862 Posts
Originally posted by Badass94Cad@Aug 18 2006, 10:10 AM~5992950
You could put a Kia engine in there if you really wanted to.  It doesn't mean it's plug and play.
;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
THANKS FOR THE HELP :uh: BUT FOR REAL SOMETHING NOBODY SAID WAS TO JUST SWAP OUT THE FRAMES AND BODY'S? I DIDNT EVEN THINK OF THAT MYSELF TILL MY COUSIN TOLD ME ABOUT IT, BUT WOULD THERE BE ANYTHING TO LOOKOUT FOR?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,392 Posts
Originally posted by 96BIG_BODY@Aug 18 2006, 10:53 PM~5998164
THANKS FOR THE HELP :uh: BUT FOR REAL SOMETHING NOBODY SAID WAS TO JUST SWAP OUT THE FRAMES AND BODY'S? I DIDNT EVEN THINK OF THAT MYSELF TILL MY COUSIN TOLD ME ABOUT IT, BUT WOULD THERE BE ANYTHING TO LOOKOUT FOR?
ok this confuses me u wann put the lt1 from a 96 on the 93 then put the 96 frame (wich is teh same thing) and then the body???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
thats what i was thinking in the beginning to take out the LT1 from the 96 and put it in the 93 and vise versa. BUT wouldnt it be easier if i just swap the frame from the 96 with all the drivetrain to the 93's body?
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top