LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what is a gud website or place to buy higher output alternator and what would be enough amp to get if i wanna run just 2 comps without d car dying, 160 amp should be enough or just go for 200 amp? any suggestion would help and advice. thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,557 Posts
Originally posted by baguioboy775@May 24 2011, 07:26 PM~20621732
what is a gud website or place to buy higher output alternator and what would be enough amp to get if i wanna run just 2 comps without d car dying, 160 amp should be enough or just go for 200 amp? any suggestion would help and advice. thanks
what comps? any car amps?
I can get you 110 amps for$70 chrome
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no car amp just those 2 unknown comps, but maybe subs/car amp on the future so just wondering wat would be a safe amp output. i pmd joecaprice too. thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,655 Posts
Schrol down a bit theres a list of a couple alternator distributors
http://www.layitlow.com/forums/index.php?s...ic=169119&st=20

Viair compressors draw about 20 amps each so so 40 amps together.Thats if theres viair's.Air Zenith's draw a bit more

Depending on what vehicle there going into.Most factory alternators only give 20-30 amps extra if that for cell phone chargers an what ever otehr gadgets you might have plugged in


So yeah if your in a older car that dont have a ton of electronics an 120 or up alternator should do you just fine.

Just dont run the compressors w/ the car turned off
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,932 Posts
my viair 480's drew 40 amps a piece 80 amps total
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,557 Posts
Originally posted by matttatts@May 24 2011, 11:26 PM~20623847
my viair 280's drew 40 amps   total
this^
When your car battery gets low.Even with your car running?''in my case'' A low battery will cause you amps draw to go up..fyi ....Comps are NOT like car amps in no way. Air Comps will suck the power from you battery really quick if you don't have your car running :cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,557 Posts
Originally posted by baguioboy775@May 24 2011, 09:19 PM~20622820
no car amp just those 2 unknown comps, but maybe subs/car amp on the future so just wondering wat would be a safe amp output. i pmd joecaprice too. thanks
pmed back
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,655 Posts
Originally posted by matttatts@May 25 2011, 12:26 AM~20623847
my viair 480's drew 40 amps a piece 80 amps total
Single draw 20
http://www.viaircorp.com/OnRoad/480C.html

Now if you got yours in a box w/ 2 of them.Then the schematics on the box are for CFM for the 2 of them ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
823 Posts
You will never be disappointed when you get the best, only when you get the next best...I always go 200 amp in mine, maybe overkill, but for the extra money, I think it is worth it...and is there any such thing as overkill? Except for 3/4 air lines....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,655 Posts
Originally posted by 3onthetree@May 25 2011, 11:09 AM~20625496
You will never be disappointed when you get the best, only when you get the next best...I always go 200 amp in mine, maybe overkill, but for the extra money, I think it is worth it...and is there any such thing as overkill?  Except for 3/4 air lines....
No sutch thing as over kill when it comes to voltage :biggrin:

Hey now... 3/4 is the only way to go :cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,557 Posts
Originally posted by baggedout81@May 25 2011, 10:15 AM~20625547
No sutch thing as over kill when it comes to voltage :biggrin:

Hey now... 3/4 is the only way to go :cool:
yeah,but your doing big thing's
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,655 Posts
Originally posted by JOE(CAPRICE)68@May 25 2011, 11:36 AM~20625708
yeah,but your doing big thing's
Very tru,got tired of puny 3/8".1/2" was ok tho.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
823 Posts
Originally posted by baggedout81@May 25 2011, 10:15 AM~20625547
No sutch thing as over kill when it comes to voltage :biggrin:

Hey now... 3/4 is the only way to go :cool:

Haaaa...I knew I would hear from you guys on that one!!!!!! :biggrin:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,932 Posts
Originally posted by baggedout81@May 25 2011, 09:55 AM~20625390
Single draw 20
http://www.viaircorp.com/OnRoad/480C.html

Now if you got yours in a box w/ 2 of them.Then the schematics on the box are for CFM for the 2 of them  ;)
just looked at my comp and your right im wrong :cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
497 Posts
Well what else do you have to do to run the 200 amp alternator? Up grade wires or stock wires ok?

btw 3/4 kills! Now if I could just hard line 1" id I would be set!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
823 Posts
Originally posted by robncheal@May 25 2011, 02:39 PM~20627139
Well what else do you have to do to run the 200 amp alternator?  Up grade wires or stock wires ok?

btw 3/4 kills!  Now if I could just hard line 1" id I would be set!

Depends on where the battery is. If it is left in the front, pretty much no change, as long as you have AT LEAST 10 guage wire running. I put the batteries in the back of the hearse, and I am running #2 copper. Good thing I bought the copper a few years back, would have to mortgage the house to buy it now!

I am running 1 1/2 shedule 80 steel pipe with an onboard 7.5 hp Honda compressor with an 80 gallon tank, it is a little loud, but goes fast... :wow:
 
1 - 20 of 29 Posts
Top