LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,732 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys. im no audio expert, but ive owned and installed my fair share of car stereos and subwoofers. i have a new project in which i want the ultimate sound system.

ive noticed in all my prior stereos, the woofers hit certian notes a lot harder than others. how can i have a system that can equally and clearly cover all notes of the bass spectrum. how is this achieved?

·
2GUNZ
28,221 Posts
hey guys. im no audio expert, but ive owned and installed my fair share of car stereos and subwoofers. i have a new project in which i want the ultimate sound system.

ive noticed in all my prior stereos, the woofers hit certian notes a lot harder than others. how can i have a system that can equally and clearly cover all notes of the bass spectrum. how is this achieved?
I guess trying to undestand what you mean about the bass spectrum. That could be TWO trains of thought.
The first being SUBWOOFERS. The perscribe range for bass starts at 20 hz, though there have been some that have been able to get lower, into 17hz. But typically much of the info below 20hz is not audible with standard car stereo equipment. A typically Sealed enclosure is running about 50-60 hz, or around there With Porting you can better control the lower frequency output which will give you deeper Bass, alot of people use 31 hz, I had 2-12" Rockford tuned to 27hz, and it was pretty massive.

Then you have MID WOOFERS
They typically run from 60-80 hz. Are smaller in size, typically a 8" sub but most of the time, your looking at 6 1/2". The biggest problem with Mid Woofers is the Enclosures that hold them. Most are not able to get a standard enclosure in there, so the response is neveer at a prescribe range. They can run from 60-120hz, and sometimes upward into 180-250hz, depending on the enclosure, and that tends to really give you nasty bumb in your frequency curves.