LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
a-arms? My neighbor has a 220 buzz box that he claims will weld up to a 1/2 inch. Anyone ever tried this?

·
Face Puncher
25,975 Posts
stick welding produces stronger welds than a mig..

it's just harder to get the hang of..

·
Registered
6,872 Posts
Originally posted by 216RIDER@Oct 25 2003, 08:29 PM

agreed .

i am a professional welder(not bragin just lettin you know i am speqakin from knowlage)

if you can get the weld to penitrate and have a good weld then you are better off arc welding but it is slower and more harmful to your health. due to the flux burnin off the rod.

60 10 for the root andd gaps 7018 for the cover pass.

·
Face Puncher
25,975 Posts
Originally posted by juandik+Oct 25 2003, 09:40 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (juandik @ Oct 25 2003, 09:40 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteBegin--216RIDER@Oct 25 2003, 08:29 PM

agreed .

i am a professional welder(not bragin just lettin you know i am speqakin from knowlage)

if you can get the weld to penitrate and have a good weld then you are better off arc welding but it is slower and more harmful to your health. due to the flux burnin off the rod.

60 10 for the root andd gaps 7018 for the cover pass.[/b][/quote]
are you ASW certified? what class?

·
Registered
6,872 Posts
i am U.A. certified pipe welder in pipefitters local 392
from cinci oiho
certified in heli-arc stainless and carbon steel and stick welding
stuctural and pipe

honestly i don't know how they class it .

hey you know what you say to a guy with an i.q. of 60?

nice weld!

·
Registered
33 Posts
stick or mig welding is fine for car grade steel (1/4 inch and smaller mild steel)...

you can do it with a $200 lincoln stick welder or a $400 lincon mig welder it's all your technique....