LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the hydro world, I picked up a 63 two door impala with a four pump set up that was half installed, the car also came with a Reds slip yoke, this may sound stupid but what end of the shaft does it go on tranny or rear axle, and how much shaft must be cut before installing. Any info will be great help. thanks.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thanks for the info guys, does anybody know of a shop in Toronto that does it, the shaft must be rebalanced.

·
Registered
12,920 Posts
carrier is the support on the end of the 1st shaft. it's just before the pivot point that the second shaft is on, bolts into the middle of the X frame.
i had a hell of a time doing mine man... im in winnipeg and everywhere i went people looked at me like i was on crack.had to get the shit done 2wice.. but i think it's right now. lol.
as for how much to take out. i'd get the juice in it first. then take some measurements from full lock to layed flat. then u will know the overall length u need. then its just some simple math and u should be good to go. i'd give u my measurements but i dont trust them myself.. hope that helps
layta

p.s. as far as the carrier.. i'd go solid as well. i had a new one that came with my car when i bought it so i just filleder up with lotsa silicone and it seems to be holding up ok.. but after it goes a solid is the way im going.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
No, its just a small teloscopic end that is welded to the rear side of the driveshaft, its still a two piece driveshaft and a carrier is still needed. My slip yoke is a two part peice that slids one into the other, but I have seen some slip yokes that have a spring between the two parts. Do I need a spring like that? and who or where can I get the sold carrier bearing from.

·
Registered
9,656 Posts
502-367-1956 brent greer @ pitbull hydraulics has solid steel carrier bearings