LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After having a new crate engine put in my 82 olds cutlass (V6 3.8L), Im not satisfied with the performance. It's been running reliably for a year now after install but I need a little more get up and go. Can anyone name some easy upgrades I can do for better performance. Im a novice with auto mechanics so helps much appreciated.

- I definately need to replace the exhaust. Brand and Size?

- I was told an after market catalytic Conv. would give better air flow. Is there a certain type?

- Is there a way to put an open elemnt air filter thing on a stock 2bbl carb?

Anything else?

Thnx

·
Registered
2,523 Posts
New performance intake, 4 bbl carb, camshaft, higher compression pistons, and a few other things just like if it was a v-8. For under $500 you can get 300hp out of her.

·
Registered
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
-Im having trouble locating a performance cam compatable with a V6. What brand should I be looking into?

-I cant get a performance intake until I replace the carb right? Which Edelbrock carb and intake manifold would I need to put a 4bbl on a V6? 600cfm? Is the carb in an 82 olds computer controlled?

-I liked what I read about these headers in another post. Any comments on them;
http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.a...art=HED%2D68600

·
Registered
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I just realized those headers probablly dont even fit a v-6. As you can see I seriously need some advice here, Im clueless. :uh:

·
Registered
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Originally posted by 1LOWCHERO@Nov 27 2003, 12:43 PM
New performance intake, 4 bbl carb, camshaft, higher compression pistons, and a few other things just like if it was a v-8. For under $500 you can get 300hp out of her.