LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
873 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has n e one ever put in a 350 5.7liter v8 in a 86 buick regal. I have that engine and would like to see what are the steps to putting it in and what i need to do to get it all going as soon as possible.Also would i have to put more batt's to my juice to make up for the weight diffrence to the front. thanx if pics are available please post.

Last edited by DiRtYsOuTh ReGaL at Aug 1 2003, 04:18 PM

·
Registered
92 Posts
What size engine is in the car now? I just put a 350 in my 1981 Chevy Caprice, and I had a V6 in there before, so I had to change a few things to get mine to work so it depends what your starting with. I'm new with hydraulics so I can't answer your question about adding more batteries to compensate for the weight difference.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Fill us in on what you had in the car... After that I can provide you with tips and pictures to install it. Things I need to know...
1)What was in it? 3.8 v6 with 200c transmission?
2)Is it Carburated or Fuel injected both old and new?
You will need both the 350 and its transmission for the swap. If the car was already carb, then stay carb. Going to TBI (fuel injection) requires additional parts, such as ECU (computer) and wiring nightmares and more time to install, but it is possible, I know did that to my regal. Provided that info and gladly give you what you need to get it installed.

·
Registered
873 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I currently have a 3.8L V6 with a 200c trans. it is carburator and plan on keepin that way and those pics woud really help thanks. Also radcaddy thanks for the support.

·
Registered
52 Posts