LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I am having trouble choosing a epoxy primer, I am on a tight budget. I am currently leaning toward the Kustom Shop Epoxy, because the reducers are half the price of PPG. And since I can use it as a sealer by adding reducer, that would save me some cash down the road. Help me out!!!! :biggrin: I have some experience using the PPG line, but just want to see whats out there for the price.

Prices are with taxes included.

PPG Epoxy - $210 for Kit with Student Discount
DPLF Epoxy Primer mixed 2:1 with DP401LF or DP402LF Catalyst provides an excellent corrosion–resistant primer. This primer provides excellent adhesion to many types of properly prepared metal, fiberglass and aluminum substrates, as well as plastic fillers. DPLF Epoxy Primer may also be used as a sealer and topcoated with most PPG Refinish products.

Kustom Shop Epoxy - $125 for Kit
An excellent corrosion resistant primer that offers optimum adhesion and superior hide to many types of properly prepared metal, aluminum, fiberglass and plastic filling materials. DTM Epoxy Prime / Seal, is easy to sand and topcoat with all current base coats. It can be used as a sealer and applied wet-on-wet when reduced with KR Reducers. DTM Epoxy Prime / Seal is chromate free.

HOK KD2000 Primer - $150 for Kit

Direct to Metal Primer has been formulated with a hybrid of epoxy and acrylic polymers, which provide excellent adhesion, good corrosion resistance, flexibility, productive dry times, and ease of sanding. These primers emit very low amounts of Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs), Hazardous Air Polluting Solvents (HAPS), and contain no isocyanates (CA compliant primer). KD2000 may be applied to properly cleaned and sanded aluminum, steel, galvanized steel, OE finishes, sand blasted steel, fiberglass and SMC.

SEM Metalock Direct-to-Metal High Build Primer Kit - $120 for Kit