LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,977 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for suggestions on a good beginner setup... It will go in an 81 Coupe Deville, and It will be my very first hydro setup.

I'll be installing it myself, so I'm not looking for anything to crazy... just a good beginner setup, so I can do FBSS...

Basically, It will be a setup so I can learn, and start to understand the basics of hydraulics, as I have little understanding of exactly how it all goes to together.

Although I'm pretty mechanically inclined, where I come from, a lowrider with hydro's is one in every 1 million cars, and I'm really not kidding... therfore I'm sure you can understand why I have very little experience with hydraulics.

If any of you might be interested in helping me out, by getting me a good deal on what I need, and maybe helping me online when I do the install... I'd be happy to try and find any parts you might need at my local junk yards, and ship them out to you... it's really about the most I can do...

Here, the junkyards are like an untapped resource for classic car parts, as nobodys really that interested in them... most everyone heres into rice...

I dont plan to order a setup until after October 1st this year, and my budget is about $1000 - $1500 Canadian... The install wont happen until early March - April, of 2006.

I have alot more to say, but I'll wait until if, and when, I get some responses in this thread before going any further with this.

Thanks alot...

:cool:

·
Registered
4,710 Posts
:uh: Man, aaahhhhh, ok......1st, as a simple beginner kit, start w/ a 2 pump competition kit w/ 4 italian dumps & a 10 switch pre-wired switch box, coil-over rear set-up w/ 12" cylinders & powerballs for the rear. You'll want 8" cylinders for the frt. I'd do 6 group 31 batts., (preferablly sealed batts.).