LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
The Canadian
7,793 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, i just picked up a 82 Caddy Coupe DeVille. The front seems to be raising and lowering unevenly. How can this be fixed? I'm new to hydraulics, and don't really have a clue. I have read some threads, is it the slowdown, and is the slowdown the thing that was a thing that spins? Sorry i'm so clueless.

Also, should i be worrying about driving with the disconnect connected? When i drive, i keep the switchbox disconnected. Can anything bad happen, or am i just be paranoid?

·
Registered
709 Posts
how many pumps to the front? fill the tanks with oil pick the front of your ride up and open your hood take a rench and loosen the hose on your cylinder one at a time this will get the air out of your hoses thats proably what your problem is dont take the fitting completly off just enough to were fluid comes out that side will drop down then repeat for the other side. about your ground dont worry about leaving it connected when your driving or the switchbox either just dissconect them when u park ur ride.

·
Registered
2,930 Posts
is the car level when dropped fully and level when lifted fully ?

is there a really big difference in the lift speed for each side ? how much ?

If you have two pumps to the front, the slow down (tap type thing) on each pump will control the speed that the fluid returns to the tank when you drop the ride height, the side of the car with the car battery in the front (normally passenger side) will drop slightly quicker due to the extra weight, use the valves to even this out by having the passenger side close slightly more than the drivers side It can also cause the heavier side to lift very slightly slower than the lighter side.

·
Registered
5,332 Posts
Originally posted by Chris@Jul 27 2005, 10:11 PM
could be a bunch of things...the coils could be cut differently...which caddy did you pick up?
[snapback]3494255[/snapback]​