LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
can i upgrade to a 350THM easily withou any computer issues or should i just have the stock one rebuilt?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19,361 Posts
Don't know but I think or recommend a well built 200 4r. You'll have a 4 speed and it shouldn't do nothing to your computer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
is the 200r4 stock to all LS MONTE
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,520 Posts
id get a 400
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ive been doin a lil resaersh and i tseems alot of ppl like the 2004r when propely built alot of info on turbobuick
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,195 Posts
the only people who like the 200r 4? are the gn people.


everyone else swaps out to a 700r4.


if my car was stock id just replace the stock unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,520 Posts
200r4's do not handle horsepower well

thats why they are mostly on turbo motors and cadillacs


(like 3 mechanics told me that)



and 700's just fit chevy motors, am i right?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
kool
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,520 Posts
Originally posted by ReyRey@Jan 15 2009, 04:26 PM~12715183
WILL A 200R4 BOLT UP TO A 231 V-6 ON A REGAL PRETTY QUICK? FOR EXAMPLE - BOLT PATTERNS AND LENGTH.
yes and yes


and the crossmember on a turbo350 and a 200 metric and 200r4 are the same



I KNOW FOR A FACT CUZ I BOUGHT A CROSSMEMBER WHEN I CHANGED MY 200R4 TO A 350 AND IT WAS THE SAME ONE


:tears: 40 BUCKS GONE AND I DIDNT GET MY MONEY BACK :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
394 Posts
Originally posted by Sleepy G@Jan 15 2009, 09:38 PM~12718909
yes and yes
and the crossmember on a turbo350 and a 200 metric and 200r4 are the same
I KNOW FOR A FACT CUZ I BOUGHT A CROSSMEMBER WHEN I CHANGED MY 200R4 TO A 350 AND IT WAS THE SAME ONE
:tears: 40 BUCKS GONE AND I DIDNT GET MY MONEY BACK :(
200c and 200r4 crossmembers are different, it is the only that has to change when doing the swap though. I read somewhere 2004r and 400 trans cross are the same but I just welded mine when I swapped.

200-4r fits both Buick/Olds and Chevrolet.
700-r4 fits only Chevrolet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Originally posted by El Duez@Jan 16 2009, 02:45 PM~12725072
200c and 200r4 crossmembers are different, it is the only that has to change when doing the swap though. I read somewhere 2004r and 400 trans cross are the same but I just welded mine when I swapped.

200-4r fits both Buick/Olds and Chevrolet.
700-r4 fits only Chevrolet.
WHAT I WANT TO KNOW ISDOES SWAPPING TRANNY FUK WITH THE COMPUTER AT ALL BECAUSE ALL MY SHIT WORKS CHERRY
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
394 Posts
Originally posted by soldierboy@Jan 17 2009, 02:14 PM~12733675
WHAT I WANT TO KNOW ISDOES SWAPPING TRANNY FUK WITH THE COMPUTER AT ALL BECAUSE ALL MY SHIT WORKS CHERRY
The only electrical connection on the tranny will be for a lockup torque converter so it wont effect anything. If your gonna put a trans in a Monte Carlo, the only one I would use is the 700-r4.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,520 Posts
U NEED THE PLUG FOR IT TO LOCK UP

ITLL PROLONG THE TRANNY LIFE
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,445 Posts
Originally posted by Sleepy G@Jan 12 2009, 11:04 AM~12678559
200r4's do not handle horsepower well

thats why they are mostly on turbo motors and cadillacs
(like 3 mechanics told me that)
and 700's just fit chevy motors, am i right?

not true, a 2004R (not R4) are used in 1000+hp applications. Read the new issue of Car Craft theres an article in there. I believe the length off the 2004R is the same length as a short TH350 so it should fit, but there is a TCC solenoid for the torque converter on the 200 that is not on the 350 and without it you may throw a check engine light and the car may not even run right. Anyway I'd rather have the overdrive than a 3 speed 350 but thats your call, bottom line is replace whats in a computer controlled car with the same thing and youll be happier
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,490 Posts
Originally posted by soldierboy@Jan 10 2009, 08:07 PM~12665602
can i upgrade to a 350THM easily withou any computer issues or should i just have the stock one rebuilt?
ITS ALWAYS BEST TO PUT IN WHAT U GOT OUT. BUT IF YOU DO DECIDE TO UPGRADE IT WILL FIT RIGHT UP. YOU DONT EVEN NEED THE PLUG. :cool: :cool: :cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
394 Posts
There is no way I would use a 350 or a 400 or a 200 metric on anything these days. With the 700-r4 and the 2004-r being so easy to get and the same price it doesn't make sense to use a three speed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,520 Posts
Originally posted by 83Cizzoupe@Jan 18 2009, 03:12 PM~12741180
not true, a 2004R (not R4) are used in 1000+hp applications. Read the new issue of Car Craft theres an article in there. I believe the length off the 2004R is the same length as a short TH350 so it should fit, but there is a TCC solenoid for the torque converter on the 200 that is not on the 350 and without it you may throw a check engine light and the car may not even run right. Anyway I'd rather have the overdrive than a 3 speed 350 but thats your call, bottom line is replace whats in a computer controlled car with the same thing and youll be happier

I DONT THINK HOMEBOY WILL BE UPGRADING THE DRUM, SERVOS, VALVE BODY AN ALL THAT SHIT TO HANDLE 1000 HP LIKE U SAY
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top