LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello :cheesy: !

I haven't got my gauges or switches yet, but I can't wait to make a nice bracket for them :cheesy: .

What size holes will I need for my 2" Viair gauges? I'm not sure if the 2" refers to the holes size required, the face diameter, or the face diameter including bezel.

Also, what size holes will I need for my switches? I'm getting the common toggle type switch that alot of people use, where they attach an aluminium extension to the switch toggle.

Thanks :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,341 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
216RIDER, I just noticed that you've got some of those extended switches!

How far apart do they have to be so that the extensions clear the other switches when they are operated?

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,341 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Originally posted by 216RIDER@Nov 16 2003, 06:43 PM
I'll measure all that stuff tomorrow for ya :)
:thumbsup: :cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,341 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Originally posted by air280@Nov 17 2003, 04:51 AM
we stock extensions
Damn! I didn't notice those on your site :angry: . I've already sorted out some parts, but I'll be coming to you for all the rest.

Thanks :cheesy: .
 

·
Face Puncher
Joined
·
25,975 Posts
Originally posted by M-827+Nov 16 2003, 09:07 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (M-827 @ Nov 16 2003, 09:07 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteBegin--216RIDER@Nov 16 2003, 06:43 PM
I'll measure all that stuff tomorrow for ya   :)
:thumbsup: :cool:[/b][/quote]
I lied
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,341 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Originally posted by 216RIDER+Nov 17 2003, 05:01 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (216RIDER @ Nov 17 2003, 05:01 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Originally posted by [email protected] 16 2003, 09:07 PM
<!--QuoteBegin--216RIDER
@Nov 16 2003, 06:43 PM
I'll measure all that stuff tomorrow for ya   :)

:thumbsup: :cool:
I lied[/b][/quote]
:roflmao: :roflmao: :roflmao:

Come on, get your tape measure out and go and dismantle your car for me :biggrin: . That was a genuine question, by the way! I want to make my bracket, and I don't want to make one where the gauge falls through because the hole is too big :0 !
 

·
Face Puncher
Joined
·
25,975 Posts
Originally posted by M-827+Nov 17 2003, 06:23 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (M-827 @ Nov 17 2003, 06:23 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Originally posted by [email protected] 17 2003, 05:01 PM
Originally posted by [email protected] 16 2003, 09:07 PM
<!--QuoteBegin--216RIDER
@Nov 16 2003, 06:43 PM
I'll measure all that stuff tomorrow for ya   :)

:thumbsup: :cool:

I lied
:roflmao: :roflmao: :roflmao:

Come on, get your tape measure out and go and dismantle your car for me :biggrin: . That was a genuine question, by the way! I want to make my bracket, and I don't want to make one where the gauge falls through because the hole is too big :0 ![/b][/quote]
I can measure the switches, but for the gauges, you're best off waiting for them to arrive before you go putting holes in something..

the lip on the gauge face is very narrow, I ended up using a hole saw that was smaller than the gauge body, and then using a file to enlarge the hole to the correct size...

shall I go measure the centerlines of the switches for you now? ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,341 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Originally posted by 216RIDER@Nov 17 2003, 05:44 PM

the lip on the gauge face is very narrow, I ended up using a hole saw that was smaller than the gauge body, and then using a file to enlarge the hole to the correct size...

shall I go measure the centerlines of the switches for you now? ;)
Thanks for your help 216RIDER :cool: .

Looks like I'll have to wait for my gauges then! The reason why I was asking about the switches is because the actual throw on the toggle must be quite long with the extensions attached, and I don't want my extensions running into each other!
 

·
Face Puncher
Joined
·
25,975 Posts
mine will hit if you pull them towards each other, but for all practical reasons, I never have to do that with mine..

the switches are mounted on 1 1/2" ( 38mm ;) ) centerlines..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,341 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Originally posted by 216RIDER@Nov 17 2003, 06:20 PM
mine will hit if you pull them towards each other, but for all practical reasons, I never have to do that with mine..

the switches are mounted on 1 1/2" ( 38mm ;) ) centerlines..
:cool: :cool: Thanks for your trouble 216RIDER :cool: :cool:
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top