LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do I wire two 10" dual voice coil Auudiobahn subs in one box to put out ONLY bass through one terminal in the back of my box???? Each sub has 2 pos and 2 neg terminals..... What do I do? I only want bass!!!!!!

HELP!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,581 Posts
Originally posted by dizzyk@Sep 2 2005, 02:07 AM~3737906
How do I wire two 10" dual voice coil Auudiobahn subs in one box to put out ONLY bass through one terminal in the back of my box???? Each sub has 2 pos and 2 neg terminals..... What do I do? I only want bass!!!!!!

                                                    HELP!
:scrutinize:

anyhow...

to wire them correctly, you need to know:

1) the ohm of the sub(there are dual voice coil 2ohm, and dual voice coil 4ohm)
2)the RMS powerhandling of the sub
3)the stability of the amplifier (stable at 2ohms stereo, 4ohms bridged???)
4)power rating of the amplifier(200wattsx2 @ 4ohm.....)


subs are meant for bass, so if you get anything else then you didnt set your amp correctly (bass-boost on, select LPF, turn your lil nob to about 45-50hz....place the 'level/gain' on half, then turn your deck's volume on half; listen for distortion, if there isnt any, keep turning up your deck lil by lil to listen for distortion....if you hear distortion, then gradually turn the gain/level down until its gone...if your ALMOST to max on your deck and no distortion, then your amp isnt strong enough for what you have, but you can increase the level/gain a little bit (you shouldnt have your level above about 60% IMO)

-qs
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ok got some info fo ya.... Ive got a Power acoustik amp....2channel amp(bridgable).

4ohm RMS- 125x2

2ohm RMS- 150x2

Mono RMS-300

Ive got the two audiobaun subs..

dual 4 ohm each

peak 600 Watts each

Recomended RMS 300 each

sensitivity 91db

frequency Response- 28-1000 Hz

Ive got a homemade box that I got the blue prints from DECWARE.com called the lowrider. Ive got 2 different inlets for the subs one for each if that is what I need. I appreciate everything so far hopefully this will help you, help me, get this shhhhhhh pulsing the best it can...( the attatchment might help 2)

thanx
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,581 Posts
so you got that poweracoustik 520watt amp...

check it out, if you only have ONE terminal cup in the back of the box, your going to have to bridge the amplifer (if you look on the amplifier by the terminals, you'll see a picture of a speaker that appears to be in the center of both channels, there are lines going from that speaker to the negative on one channel and the positive on the other channel...wire the subs how it is in option 2... that way you will get 300wattsRMS x1 @ 4ohms...

if you have TWO terminal cups, then wire each sub like this:


both way would let you get the most out of your amplifier, which is 300wattsRMS...

i have that amp, and the 820watt amp, and the 300watt amp, they're decent amps in my opinion, for the amount they cost, they are well worth it...

the amp is 2ohm stable stereo and 4ohm stable bridged so both ways i described is safe...

happy wiring...

-qs

t
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ive got 2 terminal cups in my box.... but ones kinda, well, its messed up so your saying that I should wire the two subs to the amp like option 1?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I wanna be able to get 300w to both is that possible? Sorry so many questions but I decided to do this myself instead of paying out the rear for it....

Thanx alot!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
hows the weather down there? gete any crap from that hurricane?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
221 Posts
Originally posted by texasfleetwood@Sep 1 2005, 11:12 PM~3737924
just connect 4  wires to 2 wires aka ''the ****** rig''  ;)
cuttiebuddy alwas has some good advise.... but id stick with my idea on this one, :cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,581 Posts
no offense, but ***** riggin isnt the way to go...




wire them how you see in option 2.... you will be giving each sub 150watts RMS (which is the MAXIMUM RMS that the 520amp can produce) there isnt any magic tricks to get more then 300watts RMS total out of that amplifier...

wire it how it is in option 2 and you'll be safe (also, look on the amplifer where you connect the speaker wires to the amplifier and you'll see how to "bridge" the amp... there is a speaker inbetween both channels with lines running from one of the channels negative's , and one of the channels postives)...

good luck

P.S.

Katrina was a BITCH... she wasnt the worse one ive ever been through, (after 20 years of living in south florida, it takes a lot to impress you), but she did make her presence known... i just feel bad for new orleans...

-qs
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Thanks for all your help cuttie buddie Appreciated much!!!!!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Another question 4 ya..... Just bought a 03 bonneville, Its got the stock cd player w/ all the buttons on the steering wheel.So basically I want to keep the stock stereo in there.. I looked in my owners manuall and it didnt say anything about preamps on it.. So do you know where I can find if there is and if not where I can buy a wiring harness?? Thanx again man you kick ass
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,025 Posts
Originally posted by dizzyk@Sep 5 2005, 12:05 PM~3754995
Another question 4 ya..... Just bought a 03 bonneville, Its got the stock cd player w/ all the buttons on the steering wheel.So basically I want to keep the stock stereo in there.. I looked in my owners manuall and it didnt say anything about preamps on it.. So do you know where I can find if there is and if not where I can buy a wiring harness?? Thanx again man you kick ass
Read through this thread...

http://www.layitlow.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=200823

In short, you need a P.A.C. SNI-35 Line Output Converter

http://www.pac-audio.com/products/loc.htm

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=P.A.C...utput+Converter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,581 Posts
Originally posted by Death Dealer@Sep 5 2005, 12:19 PM~3755052
less resistance, the better.
thats true and its false...

if an amp is stable at 4ohms and you run it at 1ohm, say bye bye to your amplifier...

the less resistence (lower ohm load) the "hotter" your system runs (not as good as other options)...
BUTTT for monoblock amplifiers, the lower the ohm load (without going below the amps stability) the more RMS power your amp will give you (good thing)...

the more resistence, the "cooler" your system runs (good thing)...
BUTTT for monoblock amplifiers, the higher the ohm load, the less RMS power your amp gives you (not so good)...

in this case, the 520 amp is not a mono block amp and its stable at 4ohms in bridge mode, which means he will get the most out of his amp at 4ohms in bridged mode(which is what he's gonna do)...

and do what brahmabrian said about connecting the HU to the amp...

-qs
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top