LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi pepoz iv been needin some decorations in my room and iv been working on my car and said what the hell ima fix up a couple lowrider bikes and a bunch of models so make it look phat. My first model im working on is a Revell '40 Ford street Rod skill 2. Iv noticed the plastic parts are all supposed to be painted. Do I paint all the parts the color their supposed to be before I glue them? Or do I mask off the chrome and other colors their not supposed to be and paint? Can yall give me all the little details on what to do, and the things that make a model a model. Im just a noob that needs a little understanding. Thanks, CHris

If their are any previous posts that explain what I am asking please post.

·
Registered
4,696 Posts
paint your parts first

also when you paint them, paint the backsides first and the the visible side next. you get a better result that way because you dont get oversrpay off the backside onto your visible area. also makes it better for if you are sitiing your pieces down when spraying.

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok that gets rid of most of my questions but heres a couple more. :biggrin: Is the goal to make the model as close to the model box as possible, or just make it the way you want to. From a couple of your posts on here iv read that you use spray can paint. Do you prime/paint/clear, or paint/clear? Thanks homie, Chris

·
Registered
4,696 Posts
you can paint it just like the box or you can paint it how you want.
you can even leave parts off or add parts from other kits.. alot of kits even come with differant building options as well. its all up to you ;)

as far as paint stages for me it all depends on what im doing, what im trying to achive, or what mood im in at the time.

some of the stuff i do is:

prime/color/clear

prime/color

base/color

base/color/clear

prime/base/color/clear

base/color/flake/clear