LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a 1964. it has at least three different colors on it. What are some basics on sanding and preping the car. I am new to this guys, also what materials will I need. Thanks ridazs
*just trying to keep cost as low as possible*

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A few rust spots on front panels, but my main concern is sanding first. And i have a couple of dents in rear panels. But those come out after sanding right? Thanks

·
Registered
7,982 Posts
no the dents dont go away after u sand it.

is this car gonna be your daily? or show car? or hopper? or wha?

if u just wanna know about sanding, scuff the whole car with 320 then go to the body work areas sand 80 to get the rust off put some body filler, sand 80, then 120 then 320 in larger circles from the body filler... spray etchin primer spray some black spray can spray on it and block sand it with 320...any black that stays u got a low spot...fill it up wit some body filler sand again, spray the black paint, block again 320 and if theres no black left then that area is done...

now thats just BASIC... but tell me wha your usin the car for and i can tell u if u should do that or not..

·
Registered
6,840 Posts
Originally posted by calvin@Jul 24 2003, 12:06 PM

if u just wanna know about sanding, scuff the whole car with 320 then go to the body work areas sand 80 to get the rust off put some body filler, sand 80, then 120 then 320 in larger circles from the body filler... spray etchin primer spray some black spray can spray on it and block sand it with 320...any black that stays u got a low spot...fill it up wit some body filler sand again, spray the black paint, block again 320 and if theres no black left then that area is done...

now thats just BASIC... but tell me wha your usin the car for and i can tell u if u should do that or not..