LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys,

I got all my airline ran. Now I am getting ready to drop the rear-end and put my bags and shit in the ass. Anyway, I was looking at the rear-end and there are some parts there that I was not expecting. (Mostly because I am a complete newbie when it comes to this kind of thing)

First, There is a lever-type curved bar which attaches to the rear-end near the pumpkin and connects to the frame above the rear-end. I assume that the purpose of this "thing" is to keep the rear-end / drive shaft aligned when there is travel in the suspension. What the hell is this thing called?

Second, it has a small bar, which looks like a sway bar attached to the rear-suspension as well. What the hell is this?

Finally, what it the name of the suspension piece that the bag sits on. I think motor heads call it a traction bar or something? It is a straight bar which attaches to the frame and the coil spring sits on it.

I am wanting to get all new bushings for the moving rear-end parts on the chevy before I put it together. I need help with the terminology so I don't look like a complete ass. What kind of bushings and shit should I look to replace while I have the ass-end dropped out of the car.

- Brad

·
Registered
5,569 Posts
Banana bar

Panhard Bar

Trailing arm

only way to replace all bushings and sleeves is to go with rubber, if you want to get poly bushings you have to reuse some of the bushing sleeves.

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Originally posted by skandalouz@Aug 31 2005, 06:59 PM~3728905
Banana bar

Panhard Bar

Trailing arm

only way to replace all bushings and sleeves is to go with rubber,  if you want to get poly bushings you have to reuse some of the bushing sleeves.