LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to be removing the body off a frame on a 1981 Chevy Caprice 2 door. I have never done this before so what is all involved in getting the body off the frame? Also what size metal do you recommend for me to use to fully wrap the frame?

Second is I have never reinforced a frame either, and I heard welding things to the frame actually weakens the frame since your heating the frame up by the welder, is this true? Any suggestions on how to wrap the frames and any critical parts that might need more reinforcing than others? Remember this is my first time and I'm open to any suggestions. I want to learn how to do this myself and don't want to take it to somebody to get it done. I have a hookup with metal, so that's not an option.

Just to let you know, I'm looking to hop the car and three wheel alot so post your suggestions on how to wrap the frame with this stuff in mind.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I meant to say that I have a hookup for metal so that's not a problem, not what was stated above. Trying to type too fast and screwed that up. Oops. :biggrin:

·
Registered
7,083 Posts
easyest way to get the body off the frame would be to get the car up on jackstands like knee high, then you remove the rearbumper, gastank, and front clip/fenders. unscrew the breaklines along with all the things conected to the motor, water lines and all electrics.
then you place jackstands on a long piece of wood under the kickpanels.
unscrew the bodymounts while you use 2 jacks, one under the crossmember and one at the rear of the frame, ones the body mounts is loose just lower the jacks and roll out the chassie under the body... simple as that and this way you wont have to lift up the body either.

·
Registered
7,083 Posts