LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey pepoz. I just got a sandblasting cabnet and a powder coater for christmas. I just have a few questions. What grit glass beads is best for sandblasting, and cleaning? I have 80 grit is that alright right before powdercoating or will there be little scratches from the 80 grit? Whats the best grit glass beads to use right before powder coating? What is the realest chrome looking powder coat and where do I get it at? Do they have real looking gold powder coating out there? Do I have to put clear over the chrome, or gold powder coating? Also where do I get kandy powder coating. This is my first time powdercoating and sandblasting any tips and tricks yall can tell me? Thanks, Chris

·
Registered
10,665 Posts
I sandblast everything I powder coat,

its been my experience that if the thickness is correct, the surface smoothness doesnt really come into play...

I even tried a piece of polished aluminum, and a piece that was blasted, they looked identical after baking.

·
Registered
998 Posts
where do you get powder coating equipment? i work at a sandblasting place.. but i'm curious as where to get powdercoating shit..

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I got my setup at harbor freight. Sandblasting cabnet and powder coater. Anyone know where to get realistic chrome, gold, and kandy powder coating please post it up. Thanks bigdan :biggrin: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: Hey what about bolt threads and stuff like that is there anything to be worried about when blasting them. Thanks, Chris

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The sandblaster was I think about 150 bucks the powdercoater from chicago electric was 50 and the glass beads were about 5 bucks I think for a 20 pound box . The powder coater is a pretty big one they have all different sizes.

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Discussion Starter #7