LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok i have a 85 cutty with out overdrive what would i have 2 do 2 swap my tranny out with a turbo 350 i have the 307 in it and if its 2much work 2 swap it out with a turbo 350 what kind of tranny do i need 2 get thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,053 Posts
Originally posted by Badass94Cad@Aug 9 2005, 08:04 AM~3569200
Um I'm not exactly sure what you're trying to do, but if you want overdrive then the TH350 doesn't have it.  You'd need a TH700R4.
2004r would be easier in a gbody but I think he was just saying the trans in it now isnt o.d.? '84+ gbodies had the trans mounts moved back from the 78-83s so the easiest way to put in a 350 is to get a BOP or Universal bop/chevy TH350 trans and then get a crossmember from an earlier gbody that came stock with a th350 and drill new holes in the frame or a 'universal' x-member might work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
no i was just asking because turbo 350 trannys are cheaper then the one i have in my car now and i just wanna be able 2 drive my car thats all i just needa get a new tranny because mines shot thats all i wanna do it the easies way possible for now thats all i dont wanna really have 2 change out a bunch of stuff it that helps me out any thanks for the replys
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,520 Posts
my 307 has a chevy pattern on it so im thinkin a chevy transmission should fit
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,053 Posts
Originally posted by sleepy526@Aug 10 2005, 03:01 AM~3577972
my 307 has a chevy pattern on it so im thinkin a chevy transmission should fit
just because YOURS does doesnt mean they all do, damn :uh:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,520 Posts
Originally posted by Eighty Six@Aug 10 2005, 03:39 AM~3578023
just because YOURS does doesnt mean they all do, damn  :uh:

well im fucken tellin him


all he has to do is open the hood remove the aircleaner or if he can reach his cant behind the distributor and look to see what it is then he could know.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,795 Posts
the turbo 350 should work fine but you will have to modify the kick down cable and the make your own holes in the shift cable bracket. you have to move it slightly forward. otherwise it wont go into park
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Originally posted by nwa_fo_lyfe@Aug 11 2005, 02:13 PM~3595458
the turbo 350 should work fine but you will have to modify the kick down cable and the make your own holes in the shift cable bracket. you have to move it slightly forward. otherwise it wont go into park
well im gonna be throwin a new edelbrock carb on it 2 and i got a throttle cable bracket with a kickdown cable bracket for it would i just adjust it threw there or would i have 2 modify it more ? or is there an easier trick ? thanks for the replys i appreciate it
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top