LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's up, LIL

I'm a professor of cultural studies at a small college and I'm working on a book about lowriding. I've been doing research, checking out shows, and cruising around since 96, mostly in Austin. I got out of it for a couple of years to finish my degree and find a job.

I was just reading in the Sept. magazine and the editor mentioned a boycott. What was that about? I know there have been lots of changes of editor over the years, but I'd like to know about this specific event. If you know, drop me a PM or post and tell me how you see it, whether you boycotted or not, etc.

peace

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
Lowriders battle for the top
Owners and clubs have a choice of events in Fontana and San Bernardino

BY CECILIA M. GOMEZ AND GEORGE WATSON
THE PRESS-ENTERPRISE

Most everyone who knows anything about lowriders is familiar with the candy-red 1995 Camaro hyped as the Undertaker. With an interior filled with wavy stripes of bright reds and blacks and a set of $2,000 gold rims, the car screams for attention and gets it from adoring fans.

The car, part of a club from Dallas, last year won Lowrider Magazine's car of the month award. But instead of showing off the flashy vehicle at Lowrider's car show Sunday in San Bernardino, the club went to Fontana for an alternative event created to boycott the magazine.

Car owners said they are tired of Lowrider jacking up entry fees -- currently $45 per vehicle -- for its traveling show that makes 16 stops around the nation. They also say the magazine, the pre-eminent read for lowrider aficionados, doesn't compensate them and yet makes money with each issue and every car show.

"We like to go out to every car show in the country," said Rubin Hernandez, 22, of Dallas. "What they are doing is unfair. We came out here to represent our members and to support the boycott."