LayItLow.com Lowrider Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just read on a wheel dealer's site in the Shipping & Returns section that "wire wheels are recommended for car show use only".

WTF? Is this true? I'm just getting started on a 86 Monte daily driver, and 14" reverse wires were gonna be my first purchase. Do I need to buy something else to drive to work and home (30 minutes each way)?

I have a hard time believing that. Do any of yall drive your shit everyday with wires?

Thanks in advance for the help.

·
Registered
12,529 Posts
they do that to protect themselves ..but i believe wire wheels are dot approved ...you will be safe as long you know how to put them on.. i been rolling knock offs for 7 years not with no problems

·
Man on a mission
54,029 Posts
Originally posted by 59Impala@Aug 29 2005, 08:40 AM~3712254
yea, they are just covering thier ass.
THATS THERE WAY OF GETTING OUT OF GIVING YOU A WARRENTY

·
Premium Member
11,540 Posts
And I don't blame them for stating that. I mean, look at how many people can't even put them on right :dunno:

·
Registered
12,100 Posts
I roll wires everyday, have been for years

I agree with d-cheese, thats just their way of not having to give you a warantee

·
Registered
368 Posts
Originally posted by D-Cheese@Aug 29 2005, 11:47 AM~3712294
THATS THERE WAY OF GETTING OUT OF GIVING YOU A WARRENTY

thats only on reversed rims...standards are for street with warranty and rev's are for show as they say...holla

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Does the offset of reverses mess things up that bad? I've heard of deep negative offset rims messing up wheel bearings, but I never heard anything about messing up the wheels themselves. Glad I heard that, I was looking at 14x7 100 spokes reversed. Now I'll look again.

How far does the adapter push the wheel out from the hub?

·
Registered
2,056 Posts
Originally posted by Joe5pt0@Aug 29 2005, 10:53 AM~3712671